V-Reds defeat X-Men in overtime

V-Reds defeat X-Men in overtime

(ANTIGONISH, N.S.)  The CIS #3 ranked UNB Varsity Reds (10-2-2) snapped the six-game winning streak of the StFX X-Men (8-5-1) with a 3-2 overtime win in AUS hockey action Saturday night in front of 1,000 fans at the Keating Centre.

Adrian Robertson (Mississauga, ON) scored the game-winner on a one-timer from the blue line. Cam Braes (Shawinigan Lake, BC) had the lone assist on the power play goal at 1:46 of the extra session.

The Varsity Reds opened the scoring on a 5-on-3 power play advantage with Philippe Maillet (Lachenaie, NB) tallying at the 13:13 mark of the first period. Cameron Brace (Toronto, ON) and Robertson notched the assists.

Eric Locke (Toronto), on the man advantage, tied it for the X-Men with 1:49 remaining in the first period. Captain Rob Slaney (Conception Bay, NL) and Ted Stephens (Whitehorse, YT) collected the assists.

Rob Mignardi (Richmond Hill, ON) gave UNB a 2-1 lead at the 9:51 mark of the second period. Defensemen Randy Gazzola (Thorold, ON) and Matt Petgrave (Brampton, ON) garnered the assists on the power play goal.

With 30 seconds remaining in the period, Blake Gal (Lethbridge, AB) evened the game for the X-Men. Jarrad Struthers (Glace Bay, NS) and Bronson Maschmeyer (Bruderheim, AB) assisted on the even strength goal.

The Varsity Reds outshot the X-Men 28-15.

David Shantz (Hamilton, ON) made 13 saves for the win, while Drew Owsley (Lethbridge, AB) turned aside 25 shots in the loss.

The three stars for the game were Robertson, Stephens and Petgrave.

The Varsity Reds return action Wednesday, Nov. 26 when they visit the cross-town rival St. Thomas Tommies.

The X-Men will be back on the ice the same night, when they travel to Halifax to face the rival Saint Mary's Huskies.

Puck drop for both games is set for 7 p.m.


**Please note - the boxscore for this game incorrectly credits Mignardi's second period goal to Francis Beauvillier. We apologise for the error.


With files from StFX Sports Information.

Photo by Erica Roberts.